Thank you to all those who attended our Annual General Meeting (AGM) last Saturday and joined the robust conversation. In addition to tabling our Annual Report and financial records, we announced the new members of our National Executive Committee (NEC), awarded Life Memberships and discussed the remits about updating the constitution.

Announcing new DPA NEC members

We announced who was elected as members and the President Elect onto the DPA NEC.

Congratulations to Juliana Carvalho and Tara Shepherd who become NEC members, and to Kera Sherwood-O’Regan who becomes President Elect.

The DPA NEC for 2023/2024 are: Joanne Dacombe (President), Kera Sherwood-O’Regan (President Elect), Jason Boberg, Juliana Carvalho, Oliver (Ollie) Goulden, David King and Tara Shepherd.

Awarding Life Memberships

This year, four members were awarded Life Memberships to DPA, acknowledging their extraordinary service to DPA over decades. 

Congratulations to Shirley Hazlewood (Taranaki), Robyn Hunt (Wellington), Gerri Pomeroy (Hamilton), and Wendi Wicks (Wellington).

Updating the constitution

Four remits were passed to update the constitution, namely:

  • updating the wording of the Treaty of Waitangi to Te Tiriti o Waitangi
  • updating financial requirements for bank accounts and the delegations for those accounts
  • allowing for emailing meeting notices for AGMs and Special General Meetings (SGM)
  • removing a redundant clause.

Those remits that didn't pass will be dealt with other alongside other changes to the constitution at a Special General Meeting to be held next year.

DPA's 2022/2023 Annual Report